

PO Box 30016 6803 AA Arnhem The Netherlands

T +31 (0)26 38 90 680 F +31 (0)26 38 90 674

> eau@uroweb.org www.uroweb.org

> > **EAU Board**

Executive Committee

Prof. C. Chapple

Prof. J. N'Dow Adjunct Secretary General - Education

Prof. J. Sønksen Executive Member Communication

Prof. A. Stenzl

Chairs Offices

Prof. P. Albers
Scientific Congress Office

Prof. M. Babjuk

Prof. P. Van Kerrebroeck

Prof. E. Liatsikos

Prof. B. Malavaud

Prof. A. Merseburger

Prof. V. Mirone

Prof. H. Van Poppel

Prof. D. Pushkar Vice-Chair Membership Office

Prof. J. Rassweiler
Section Office

Prof. M. Ribal Guidelines Office

Prof. E. Rogers

Dr. M. Sedelaar Young Urologists Office

EAU Research Foundation

Prof. A. Bjartell

European Urology®

Prof. J. Catto Editor-in-Chief

Executive Management

Jacqueline Roelofswaard Executive Manager Operational Affairs

Maurice Schlief, MSc Executive Manager Business Affairs

To the President / Secretary General / Chair

Date: 20 September 2021

Subject: EAU Crystal Matula Award 2022

Dear Colleagues, dear Friends,

I herewith kindly invite you to give us your proposal for candidates for the EAU Crystal Matula Award 2022.

The EAU Crystal Matula Award is the most prestigious prize given to a young promising European urologist aged 40 or under who should have the capacity of becoming – or is already considered as – one of the future leaders in academic European urology. This award is the European counterpart of the AUA Gold Cystoscope Award.

Candidates for this award should be endorsed by a general agreement of its national urological association. Hence, the proposal should be done through the national urological society by supplying the following documents:

- · Letter of endorsement
- · Motivation letter
- Complete curriculum vitae
- List of publications in the below sequence:
 - 1. Peer reviewed papers (including the impact factors of the journals)
 - · original articles
 - · reviews
 - · case reports
 - 2. Book chapters or editor of books
 - overview of grants received from (inter-)national institutions or from the industry
 - · list of received Awards

Please note that individuals can apply as well but they also need to be endorsed by the national society. The EAU Executive will then do the final selection and announce the EAU Crystal Matula Award 2022 recipient at the upcoming EAU Congress, which will be held in Amsterdam from 18-21 March 2022.

../..



Previous winners of the EAU Crystal Matula Award:

1996 Paris F.C. Hamdy, Oxford, United Kingdom

1998 Barcelona F. Montorsi, Milan, Italy

1999 Stockholm
2000 Brussels
2001 Geneva
2002 Birmingham
2003 Madrid
G. Thalmann, Berne, Switzerland
A.R. Zlotta, Toronto, Canada
B. Djavan, Vienna, Austria
M. Kuczyk, Hanover, Germany
B. Malavaud, Toulouse, France

2004 Vienna P.F.A. Mulders, Nijmegen, The Netherlands

2005 Istanbul M.P. Matikainen, Nokia, Finland 2006 Paris A. De La Taille, Creteil, France 2007 Berlin M.S. Michel, Mannheim, Germany

2008 Milan2009 StockholmV. Ficarra, Padua, ItalyM.J. Ribal, Barcelona, Spain

2010 Barcelona J.W.F. Catto, Sheffield, United Kingdom

2011 Vienna S.G. Joniau, Leuven, Belgium
2012 Paris P.J. Bastian, Düsseldorf, Germany

2013 Milan P. Boström, Turku, Finland
2014 Stockholm S.F. Shariat, Vienna, Austria
2015 Madrid M. Rouprêt, Paris, France
2016 Munich A. Briganti, Milan, Italy
2017 London C. Gratzke, Munich, Germany

2018 Copenhagen S. Silay, Istanbul, Turkey
2019 Barcelona M. Albersen, Leuven, Belgium
2020 EAU20 virtual D. Tilki, Hamburg, Germany

2021 EAU21 virtual V. Phé, Paris, France

May I kindly ask you to send your proposal before **1 November 2021** to the EAU Central Office? You can send this to Mrs. Marian Smink at m.smink@uroweb.org.

With kindest regards, Yours sincerely,

Christopher Chapple Secretary General EAU