

PO Box 30016 6803 AA Arnhem The Netherlands

T +31 (0)26 38 90 680 F +31 (0)26 38 90 674

> eau@uroweb.org www.uroweb.org

# To the President/Secretary General/Chairman

Date: 2 July 2019

Subject: EAU Crystal Matula Award 2020

#### **EAU Board**

### **Executive Committee**

Prof. C. Chapple

Prof. H. Van Poppel Adjunct Secretary General - Education

Prof. J. Sønksen Adjunct Secretary General - Clinical Practice

Prof. A. Stenzl
Adjunct Secretary General - Science

Prof. M. Wirth

#### Chairmen Offices

Prof. B. Malavaud Membership Office

> Prof. V. Mirone EUSP Office

Prof. J. N'Dow Guidelines Office

Prof. R. Nijman EU-ACME Office

> Prof. J. Palou Education Office

Prof. D. Pushkar

Prof. J. Rassweiler

Dr. M. Sedelaar Young Urologists Office

Prof. A. Stenzl Scientific Congress Office Ad interim

Prof. P. Van Kerrebroeck
History Office

## **EAU Research Foundation**

Prof. A. Bjartell

#### **Executive Management**

Jacqueline Roelofswaard Executive Manager Operational Affairs

Maurice Schlief, MSc Executive Manager Business Affairs Dear Colleagues, dear Friends,

I herewith kindly invite you to give us your proposal for candidates for the EAU Crystal Matula Award 2020.

The EAU Crystal Matula Award is the most prestigious prize given to a young promising European urologist aged 40 or under who should have the capacity of becoming – or is already considered as – one of the future leaders in academic European urology. This award is the European counterpart of the AUA Gold Cystoscope Award.

Candidates for this award should be endorsed by a general agreement of its national urological association. Hence, the proposal should be done through the national urological society by supplying the following documents:

- Letter of endorsement
- Motivation letter
- Complete curriculum vitae
- List of publications in the below sequence:
  - 1. Peer reviewed papers (including the impact factors of the journals)
    - original articles
    - reviews
    - case reports
- 2. Book chapters or editor of books
  - overview of grants received from (inter-)national institutions or from the industry
  - list of received Awards

Please note that individuals can apply as well but they also need to be endorsed by the national society. The EAU Executive will then do the final selection and announce the EAU Crystal Matula Award 2020 recipient at the upcoming EAU Congress, which will be held in Amsterdam from 20-24 March 2020.

../..



### Previous winners of the EAU Crystal Matula Award:

1996 Paris F.C. Hamdy, Oxford, United Kingdom

1998 Barcelona F. Montorsi, Milan, Italy

1999 Stockholm
2000 Brussels
2001 Geneva
2002 Birmingham
2003 Madrid
G. Thalmann, Berne, Switzerland
A.R. Zlotta, Toronto, Canada
B. Djavan, Vienna, Austria
M. Kuczyk, Hanover, Germany
B. Malavaud, Toulouse, France

2004 Vienna P.F.A. Mulders, Nijmegen, The Netherlands

2005 Istanbul
 2006 Paris
 2007 Berlin
 M.P. Matikainen, Nokia, Finland
 A. De La Taille, Creteil, France
 M.S. Michel, Mannheim, Germany

2008 Milan2009 StockholmV. Ficarra, Padua, ItalyM.J. Ribal, Barcelona, Spain

2010 Barcelona J.W.F. Catto, Sheffield, United Kingdom

2011 Vienna S.G. Joniau, Leuven, Belgium 2012 Paris P.J. Bastian, Düsseldorf, Germany

2013 Milan
2014 Stockholm
2015 Madrid
2016 Munich
P. Boström, Turku, Finland
S.F. Shariat, Vienna, Austria
M. Rouprêt, Paris, France
A. Briganti, Milan, Italy

2017 London
2018 Copenhagen
2019 Barcelona
C. Gratzke, Munich, Germany
S. Silay, Istanbul, Turkey
M. Albersen, Leuven, Belgium

May I kindly ask you to send your proposal before **1 November 2019** to the EAU Central Office? You can send this to Mrs. Marian Smink at <a href="mailto:m.smink@uroweb.org">m.smink@uroweb.org</a>.

With kindest regards, Yours sincerely,

Christopher Chapple Secretary General EAU