

To the President/Secretary General/Chairman

PO Box 30016 6803 AA Arnhem The Netherlands

T +31 (0)26 38 90 680 F +31 (0)26 38 90 674

> eau@uroweb.org www.uroweb.org

> > Date: 18 September 2018 EAU Crystal Matula Award 2019 Subject:

EAU Board Executive Committee

**Prof. C. Chapple** 

Prof. F. Montorsi

Prof. H. Van Poppel

Prof. J. Sønksen

Prof. M. Wirth

Chairmen Offices

**Prof. I. Korneyev** 

Prof. V. Mirone

Prof. J. N'Dow

Prof. R. Niiman

Prof. J. Palou

Prof. J. Rassweiler

Dr. M. Sedelaar

Prof. A. Stenzl Scientific Congress Office

Prof. P. Van Kerrebroeck

EAU Foundation for Urological Research

Prof. A. Bjartell

**Executive Management** 

**Jacqueline Roelofswaard** 

**Maurice Schlief, MSc** Executive Manager Business Affairs

Dear Colleagues, dear Friends,

I herewith kindly invite you to give us your proposal for candidates for the EAU Crystal Matula Award 2019.

The EAU Crystal Matula Award is the most prestigious prize given to a young promising European urologist aged 40 or under who should have the capacity of becoming - or is already considered as - one of the future leaders in academic European urology. This award is the European counterpart of the AUA Gold Cystoscope Award.

Candidates for this award should be endorsed by a general agreement of its national urological association. Hence, the proposal should be done through the national urological society by supplying the following documents:

- Letter of endorsement
- Motivation letter
- · Complete curriculum vitae
- List of publications in the below sequence:
  - 1. Peer reviewed papers (including the impact factors of the journals)
    - original articles
    - reviews
    - case reports
  - 2. Book chapters or editor of books
    - · overview of grants received from (inter-)national institutions or from the industry
    - · list of received Awards

Please note that individuals can apply as well but they also need to be endorsed by the national society. The EAU Executive will then do the final selection and announce the EAU Crystal Matula Award 2019 recipient at the upcoming EAU Congress, which will be held in Barcelona from 15-19 March 2019.

../..



www.eau19.org

Previous winners of the EAU Crystal Matula Award:

1996 Paris	F.C. Hamdy, Oxford, United Kingdom
1998 Barcelona	F. Montorsi, Milan, Italy
1999 Stockholm	G. Thalmann, Berne, Switzerland
2000 Brussels	A.R. Zlotta, Toronto, Canada
2001 Geneva	B. Djavan, Vienna, Austria
2002 Birmingham	M. Kuczyk, Hanover, Germany
2003 Madrid	B. Malavaud, Toulouse, France
2004 Vienna	P.F.A. Mulders, Nijmegen, The Netherlands
2005 Istanbul	M.P. Matikainen, Nokia, Finland
2006 Paris	A. De La Taille, Creteil, France
2007 Berlin	M.S. Michel, Mannheim, Germany
2008 Milan	V. Ficarra, Padua, Italy
2009 Stockholm	M.J. Ribal, Barcelona, Spain
2010 Barcelona	J.W.F. Catto, Sheffield, United Kingdom
2011 Vienna	S.G. Joniau, Leuven, Belgium
2012 Paris	P.J. Bastian, Düsseldorf, Germany
2013 Milan	P. Boström, Turku, Finland
2014 Stockholm	S.F. Shariat, Vienna, Austria
2015 Madrid	M. Rouprêt, Paris, France
2016 Munich	A. Briganti, Milan, Italy
2017 London	C. Gratzke, Munich, Germany
2018 Copenhagen	S. Silay, Istanbul, Turkey

May I kindly ask you to send your proposal before **1 November 2018** to the EAU Central Office? You can send this to Mrs. Marian Smink at <u>m.smink@uroweb.org</u>.

With kindest regards, Yours sincerely,

Inplu Chaple

**Christopher Chapple** Secretary General EAU